bopsphp.blogg.se

Bleeding on the brain
Bleeding on the brain








bleeding on the brain

“And I said, ‘No.’ And I had seen the neurologist the day before do the neurological exam with his finger,” Mom recalled. “And so I was lying through my teeth.”įinally, we got in to see a nurse, and she did that same neuro test, holding her finger in front of my eyes - except she was doing it wrong. “I immediately informed them that I’d already talked to my attorney, and that we weren’t leaving until they figured out what was wrong with you,” my mom said. I was also worried that my mom was going to cause a scene. Because I was so sick and I didn’t know what was going on. It just felt like I didn’t deserve to be there. When we arrived, there was a very quick, brief triage, questions about, you know, am I bleeding. She left work and burst into our house and took me back to the ER, this time at a different hospital. Picture Queen Khaleesi in “Game of Thrones” when she goes all fire and brimstone.

bleeding on the brain

In the morning, Mom made me call my doctor and tell her what happened, but I kept getting a nurse and she told me to just get some rest. I had been seeing double, but that neurologist didn’t see my double vision as too concerning. “ saying, ‘There’s two fingers, there’s two fingers.’ And then he walked away, and that was all he did.” ”And he literally did this, you know, follow my fingers,” my mom said, describing how the doctor waved one finger in front of my face. A nurse missed my vein and an entire bag of IV fluid leaked into my lap, and she accused me of pissing myself. As far as they were concerned, I was dehydrated. I got so terribly sick after that first flip, I couldn’t move my head without puking. It was the weirdest feeling: All of my guts felt like they were in my head, like not in a normal way. She decided to get me on the family inversion table and had my older sister flip me upside down for about 10 minutes, to get the supposedly blocked fluid out of my ears. There, they said it had something to do with fluid in my ears. “So I think they just said get some over the counter Dramamine.” “They said, ‘Oh, it’s vertigo,’” my mom recalled. About a week later, I got sick on my way to school and had to pull over on the side of the road to throw up. “`She’s just not taking care of herself, and she’s going in 5,000 directions, which has been an issue with Mimi since day one.’”īut then things got worse. “I just kind of brushed it off as, ‘Oh well, she’s doing it again,’” my mom said. She falls asleep to the sound of incriminating evidence. Speaking of crime, we watch a lot of “Forensic Files” late at night together. I was 22 at the time, living with my mom in Aurora, Colorado, just about to start my first job as a high school teacher. My mom picked me up after because my car had broken down that week. All I could think about was getting through this and getting home. He was your typical finance bro: crew cut, one of those fleece vests. Subscribe on Apple Podcasts, Stitcher or wherever you get your podcasts.

bleeding on the brain

This story is from The Pulse, a weekly health and science podcast.










Bleeding on the brain